QClogo    D E P A R T M E N T  O F  A N T H R O P O L O G Y   
   


Click here for current semester's faculty office hours: Fall 2015 Faculty Office Hours


FULL-TIME FACULTY                            PART-TIME FACULTY                    PROFESSOR EMERITI
FACULTY
Bauer Alexander Bauer
Research Interests: archaeology, material culture, cultural heritage law and policy, Middle East, Eurasia

Office: 313A Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5517
e-mail: alexander.bauer@qc.cuny.edu

Birth Kevin Birth
Research Interests: social anthropology, psychological anthropology, time, festivals, ethnicity, Caribbean
Office: 313C Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5518
e-mail: kevin.birth@qc.cuny.edu

Collins John Collins
Research Interests:
cultural anthropology, economic anthropology, cultural heritage and development, Latin America, historical anthropology, nationalism and the state

Office: 315G Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5524
e-mail: john.collins@qc.cuny.edu

Elisha Omri Elisha
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, Evangelicalism/Christianity, urban anthropology, North American ethnography, cultural activism/social movements
Office: 315L Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5525
e-mail: omri.elisha@qc.cuny.edu

Halliburton Murphy Halliburton
Research Interests: medical anthropology, South Asian culture and history, cross-cultural psychiatry, anthropology of science
Office: 315I Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5528
e-mail: murphy.halliburton@qc.cuny.edu


Limbert Mandana Limbert (Department Chair)
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, Middle East: Oman, Arab societies, anthropology of memory, historical anthropology, religion, modernity, colonialism
Office: 315F Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5526
e-mail: mandana.limbert@qc.cuny.edu

Madimenos Felicia Madimenos
Research Interests: biological anthropology, health and market integration, life history theory, skeletal health, reproductive ecology, indigenous Ecuadorian populations
Office: 313D Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5637
e-mail: felicia.madimenos@qc.cuny.edu
Makihara Miki Makihara
Research Interests: linguistic anthropology, language and identity, language contact, linguistic ideology, Pacific societies
Office: 312D Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5513
e-mail: miki.makihara@qc.cuny.edu


Moore James A Moore
Research Interests: archaeology, quantitative methods, historical archaeology, European prehistory, forager/ farmer interactions
Office: 313B Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2891
e-mail: james.moore@qc.cuny.edu

Pechenkina Kate Pechenkina
Research Interests: biological anthropology, bioarchaeology, disease in prehistory, bone pathology, Neolithic China, prehistoric Peru
Office: 312A Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5529
e-mail: pechenkina@yahoo.com


Ramona Perez
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, food habits and the anthropology of the senses, gender/kinship, ethnicity and personhood, US-Mexico borderlands, Latin American and Latino cultures, ethnographic film, life history and narrative, alternative medicine, feminist research methods, critical pedagogy
Office: 315H Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5561
e-mail: ramona.perez@qc.cuny.edu

Plummer Thomas Plummer
Research Interests: biological anthropology, hominin behavior and paleoecology, hominin paleontology, human osteology 
Office: 315M Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5511
e-mail: thomas.plummer@qc.cuny.edu

Pugh Timothy Pugh
Research Interests: archaeology, Mesoamerica, complex society, Maya, ethnohistory, social identity 
Office: 312B Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2896
e-mail: twpugh@qc.cuny.edu


Rodriguez Juan Luis Rodriguez
Research Interests: linguistic anthropology, semiotics, politics, discourse, Latin America, Venezuela, Indigenous peoples
Office: 312A Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2928
e-mail: juan.rodriguezaponte@qc.cuny.edu


Strassler Karen Strassler
Research Interests: cultural anthropology, visual and material culture, photography and new media technologies, history and memory, post-colonial literature, film and art, Indonesia, Southeast Asia, Asian diasporas
Office: 315P Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2859
e-mail: karen.strassler@qc.cuny.edu

Swedell Larissa Swedell
Research Interests: biological anthropology, primatology, primate ecology and behavior, reproductive strategies, Hamadryas baboons
Office: 315E Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2897
e-mail: larissa.swedell@qc.cuny.edu


Tache Karine Tache
Research Interests: archaeology, Northeastern North America, prehistoric interaction networks, early pottery uses, organic residue analysis
Office: 312 Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2893
e-mail: karine.tache@qc.cuny.edu
       back to top

    
PART-TIME FACULTY
Nadia Augustyniak
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5512

Misty Crooks
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall

Jennifer Delfino
Research Interests: linguistic anthropology
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall

Tomomi Emoto
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314F Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5522
email: jimee.choi@qc.cuny.edu

Francis Feeley
Research Interests: archaeology, historical archaeology, Vikings
Office: 314G Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2854
email: ffeeley@gc.cuny.edu

Frances Forrest
Research Interests: biological anthropology, paleoanthropology, Africa
Office: 314F Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5515
email: francesforrest@gmail.com

Cara Frissell
Research Interests: historical archaeology
Office: 314C Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2892
email: cara.frissell@gmail.com

Ola Galal
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314I Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5512
email: ogalal@gradcenter.cuny.edu

Jemima Georges
Research Interests: Caribbean archaeology
Office: 314I Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5512
email: jemimageorges@yahoo.com

Raquel Lamela Lopez
Research Interests: biological anthropology
Office: 314C Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2892
email: rlamela82@aol.com

Irina Levin
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5523

Wendy Leynse
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314 Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5523

Allison Manfra McGovern
Research Interests: archaeology, Northeast North America, historical archaeology
Office: 314D Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-5523
e-mail: allison.manfra@qc.cuny.edu

Samuel Rose
Research Interests: development
of complex society, origins of social inequality, household archaeology, power relations, archaeological science and material culture
Office:
314G Powdermaker Hall
Phone:
(718) 997-2856
e-mail:
samuelcrose91@gmail.com


Doreen Schmitt
Research Interests: linguistic anthropology, sociolinguistics, language and law, forensic linguistics

Office:
314J Powdermaker Hall
Phone:
(718) 997-5520
e-mail:
 
doreen.schmitt@qc.cuny.edu

Chihiro Shibata
Research Interests: biological anthropology, primatology
Office: 314C Powdermaker Hall
Phone: (718) 997-2892
e-mail: chihiro.shibata@qc.cuny.edu

Yuko Shiratori
Research Interests: archaeology
Office: 314F Powdermaker Hall
Phone:
(718) 997-5515
e-mail: 
yutang99@gmail.com

Anne Spice
Research Interests: cultural anthropology
Office: 314I Powdermaker Hall
Phone:
(718) 997-5512
e-mail:
aspice@qc.cuny.edu

Miranda Suri Stockett
Research Interests: Mesoamerican archaeology, identity, space, and gender in northwest Honduras

Office:
314G Powdermaker Hall
Phone:
(718) 997-2856
e-mail: 
mirandasuri@gmail.com

       back to top

PROFESSOR EMERITI
Warren DeBoer
Research Interests: archaeology, ethnoarchaeology, South America, North America
e-mail: warren.deboer@qc.cuny.edu
Sara Stinson
Research Interests: biological anthropology, human growth and development, human adaptation, nutritional anthropology, South America
e-mail: sara.stinson@qc.cuny.edu
       back to top

footer